And the Inspiration Continues

Just shy of 1 month since my graduation for the M.F.A. program and I am still completely inspired and ready to create work. At the end of June I will be presenting three new works and while I had some fear that I would need a little longer of a break in order to recover from my intense two years as a graduate student I find that really, I wanted to make these works. I’m sure that I am not the only choreographer who occasionally suffers from bouts of insomnia or waking up in the middle of the night needing to quickly jot down some idea that I may have dreamt up. But these episodes come more frequently now since I have slowed down a bit. Although it may seem to be somewhat of an annoying  nuisance, to me it’s a great feeling! It’s a great feeling because I am at a point in my life where I can really listen where I can really find time to suss out the details and work through phrase work and decide what I need to work on, what I can leave behind etc. I recently re-read an article since going through my paperwork from grad school. The article, “Do choreographers need editors?” was originally printed in The Guardian. Here’s the link.

https://www.theguardian.com/stage/dance-blog/2014/nov/26/why-dance-choreographers-need-editors

It is no secret that José Limón used Doris Humphrey in this capacity and additional choreographers have also had similar relationships. I love that now I have the time to look at my work and edit, play, and manipulate, send it to colleagues and mentors or their thoughts and ideas. This is really where the fun begins! Here’s a little advertisement for the show and if you’re in Tucson I do hope you can make it!

Four_Poster_draft.png

Leave a Reply

